Press Release

The Thirty-Fifth Session of the SAARC Ministers of Foreign/External Affairs was held in the Maldives on 20th February 2014.  The meeting was inaugurated by H.E. Mr. Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom, President of the Republic of Maldives.   This was preceded by Fortieth Session of the Standing Committee, 6th Special Session of the Standing Committee and Forty-fifth Session of the Programming Committee during 17-19 February, 2014, with participation from all SAARC Member States.

The Foreign/External Affairs Ministers of SAARC Member States had last met in Addu City, Maldives in November, 2011.

During these meetings, the whole gamut of issues related to co-operation amongst Member States of SAARC were discussed, including strengthening of SAARC Mechanism.  

The Council was unanimous in applauding the out-going Secretary-General, H.E. Mr. Ahmed Saleem, for his stewardship in taking the SAARC process forward.  The Council also approved the appointment of Mr. Arjun Bahadur Thapa, former Foreign Secretary, Government of Nepal, as the new Secretary-General of SAARC.  H.E. Mr. Ahmed Saleem demits office on 28th February, 2014.

During the meeting, Nepal also announced hosting the Eighteenth Summit of Heads of SAARC Member States sometime in November, 2014.