Press Release

Thirtieth Charter Day Press Release

The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) commemorated its Thirtieth Charter Day today, 8 December 2014.


The Heads of State or Government and Ministers of Foreign/External Affairs of SAARC Member States issued special messages in commemoration of the Charter Day. H. E. the Secretary-General of SAARC also issued a dedicatory message on the occasion.


SAARC Regional Centres, Specialized Bodies of SAARC, SAARC Apex and Recognized Bodies and SAARC Secretariat observed the Thirtieth SAARC Charter Day by organizing various commemorative events.


As per tradition, H. E. Mr. Arjun B. Thapa, Secretary-General of SAARC, hosted a Reception at the SAARC Secretariat in Kathmandu this evening to mark the Thirtieth SAARC Charter Day. Graced by the Rt. Hon. Parmananda Jha, Vice President of Nepal as Chief Guest, the event was attended by a large number of dignitaries and high-ranking officials from the Government of Nepal, representatives of the diplomatic corps in Kathmandu, and people representing the civil society, business community and the media.


Addressing the gathering present on the occasion, H. E. Mr. Thapa said, “Tonight’s event takes place barely ten days after the Eighteenth SAARC Summit. This event this evening is a fitting occasion for all of us to rejoice the successful conclusion of the Eighteenth Summit.” In his brief address, H. E. Mr. Thapa highlighted the major issues emanating from the Eighteenth Summit.


The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) came into being on 8 December 1985 with the adoption of its Charter by the Heads of State or Government of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Afghanistan joined SAARC in April 2007 as the eighth member.


A forum of eight countries in South Asia that are bound by ties of history and culture, SAARC is a tangible manifestation of the determination of its Member States to promote peace, stability, amity and progress in the region through strict adherence to the principles of sovereign equality, territorial integrity, national independence, non-use of force and non-interference in the internal affairs of other States and peaceful settlement of disputes. SAARC aims to promote peace, freedom, social justice and economic prosperity by fostering mutual understanding, good neighborly relations and meaningful cooperation among its Member States. Its Secretariat is based in Kathmandu.

SAARC Secretariat, G.P.O Box 4222, Tridevi Sadak, Kathmandu, Nepal 
Phone: (+977 1) 4221785, 4226350, 4231334 | Fax: (+977 1) 4227033, 4223991

© 2020 SAARC. All Rights Reserved.